North Carolina Finance

Feb 13 2018

WA State Licensing (DOL) Official Site: Mandatory insurance for drivers in Washington, vehicle insurance wa.#Vehicle


Getting a driver license: Mandatory insurance

If you drive your car without the required insurance, you could receive a fine of $550 or more.

If you drive a vehicle that is required to be registered in Washington State, you must have one of the following:

The auto insurance policy must have limits of at least:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury or death of 1 person in any 1 accident.
  • $50,000 of bodily injury or death of any 2 people in any 1 accident.
  • $10,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any 1 accident.

Required proof of auto insurance

Any time you drive in Washington, you must be prepared to show your auto insurance identification card to law enforcement. You will get this identification card from your auto insurance company when you buy a policy. The card must include all of the following:

  • Name of the insurance company.
  • Policy number.
  • Effective date of the policy.
  • Expiration date of the policy.
  • Description of the year, make, or model of the insured vehicles, or the name of the insured driver. The word fleet may be used for more than 5 vehicles owned by the same person or business.

Failing to show this proof of insurance is a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of coverage is a misdemeanor.

If you have 26 or more vehicles, you may qualify for self-insurance. For more information, contact us at:

Department of Licensing

Olympia, WA 98507-9030

Required proof of self insurance

Any time you operate a vehicle in Washington, you must be prepared to show your self insurance certificate to law enforcement. The certificate may be printed on any size document and must include all of the following:

  • Self insurance certificate number we issued to you.
  • Effective date of the certificate.
  • Description of the year, make, or model of the covered vehicles, or the name of the covered driver. The word fleet may be used in place of the vehicle description.

Failing to show proof is a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of coverage is a misdemeanor.

If you want to apply for a certificate of deposit

If we don t receive all documents within 30 days, we ll send you a denial letter.

If we don t receive proof of payment, we can t process your application.

What s the minimum deposit amount?

The certificate of deposit must be for at least $60,000. You can make a deposit of collateral with us (DOL) or in a bank account set up for the State of Washington.

You must show proof of your certificate of deposit

Any time you operate a vehicle in Washington, you must be prepared to show proof of your certificate of deposit to law enforcement. The information may be printed on any size document and include the following:

  • Certificate number issued by us (DOL)
  • and
  • Name of the covered driver.

Failing to show proof of insurance is a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of coverage is a misdemeanor.

The bond must be for at least $60,000, and must be filed by a surety bond company authorized to do business in Washington.

Required proof of liability bond

Any time you operate a vehicle in Washington, you must be prepared to show proof of your liability bond to law enforcement. The information may be printed on any size document and must include all of the following:

  • Name of the company that issued the bond.
  • Bond number.
  • Name of the covered driver.

Failing to show this proof of insurance is a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of coverage is a misdemeanor.

Exceptions

You don t need to have insurance when you operate a vehicle registered as any of the following:

  • Motorcycle. (RCW 46.04.330)
  • Motor-driven cycle. (RCW 46.04.332)
  • Moped. (RCW 46.04.304)
  • Horseless carriage over 40 years old (RCW 46.18.255)
  • State or publicly-owned vehicle. (RCW 46.16.020)
  • Common or contract carrier with the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission.

Vehicles registered in another state

When you drive a vehicle in Washington that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement if requested.


Written by admin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *